Not recommended: age rules that don't fit what it sells
Joyland sells "Intimate Themes Access" and calls itself unfiltered, yet its terms only bar users under 13 (16 in the EU), and on 20 October 2026 its homepage carousel promoted stories titled "Diary of a High School Girl" and "A High Schooler's Diary". When an app's own pages point toward minors, we cap its score at 4.5 whatever its prices and features, and we don't link to it.
Looking for a paid companion app instead? Start with our Secrets AI review (7.9/10) or our OurDream AI review (7.6/10).
Not Recommended
Joyland AI
A community character-chat site run by MINDZEN PTE. LTD. in Singapore. The plans are cheap ($9.99 or $19.99 a month) and the plan page shows prices before sign-up, but the terms allow sign-up from 13 on a site that sells intimate themes, and its homepage promoted high-school-themed stories. Score capped at 4.5.
Scored with our v3 method: features and adult scope from the official pages, value from the entry price, billing terms, and user ratings with 50+ reviews. See how scores work.
Compare: Our Secrets AI Review →Table of Contents
Joyland is a web platform at joyland.ai, with an iPhone app and an Android app, for chatting with AI characters that users create and publish. The homepage claims "millions of Custom Characters" and pitches "FREE, Private, and UNFILTERED AI Roleplay". Its paid tiers are among the cheapest in the category. This review explains what they include and why we still don't recommend the site.
Everything below comes from pages anyone can check on 20 October 2026: the plan page at joyland.ai and the plan data it loads, Joyland's help center (membership, chat models, memory and image pages), the terms of service (last updated 14 May 2025), the privacy policy, Trustpilot, the App Store and Google Play. It is not a hands-on test, so there are no chat logs or sample images, and we do not grade writing quality. This page replaces our July review, whose 7.5 score rested on a "gem economy" and voice calls we could not find.
Quick verdict: 4.5/10, not recommended
Who it is built for: adults who want a large community character library, creators who import character cards and build lore, personas and image packs, and heavy image users (Premium lists images as "No limits").
What the entry price gets you: Standard at $9.99 a month adds Intimate Themes Access, all five chat models, short-term memory across sessions, 5,000 credits a month (about 166 images at 30 credits each), 20 personas and no ads.
The one thing to watch: the age rules. The terms let 13-year-olds sign up (16 in the EU), and the homepage promoted high-school-themed stories on the day we checked. That is why we don't recommend it.
What You Get
- Character chat: browse by tag (AI Girlfriend, AI Boyfriend, Anime, Flow Mode and many more), open a bot and chat. The most popular public bots show chat counters in the millions. The library is user-built, so quality and content vary.
- Flow Mode: a newer, story-led chat format, advertised on 20 October as "Limited-Time Free".
- Novels and Stories: AI-written interactive stories in genres like romance, mafia, werewolf and BL.
- Creator tools (help center): profile (name, appearance, personality, backstory, scenario, greeting), lore entries, import of character cards in JSON or PNG format, and personas (Free 3, Standard 20, Premium 50).
- Avatar generation: free in the mobile app; on the web, 10 free attempts of 4 images each, then 25 credits per generation.
- Chat models: a Free Model for everyone, plus four "Pro" models (Roleplay, StoryStream, Lifelike, Vividtale) aimed at focused scenes, long plots, natural conversation and descriptive prose. Free users get "limited dialogue model trials".
- Memory: free users get context within the current conversation, Standard a "short-term memory" that carries across sessions, Premium "long-term memory". The plan table adds pinned messages (20 on Standard, 50 on Premium) and "customized memory" (800 vs 1,500, unit not stated). Two Google Play reviews from 2024 say characters forgot details after roughly 10 to 15 messages; they predate the current models.
- Images: the image help page sets a standard price of 30 credits per image, whether you ask in chat, tap the photo button, unlock an image a bot sends or open a single gallery picture. You can also unlock a whole gallery in one payment, or pay 500 credits once to unlock image generation with one bot for good. Premium members generate images without spending credits. Only bots marked with a pink photo icon can send consistent images of themselves.
- Image and voice packs: creators can upload reference pictures so a bot sends consistent photos, and audio so it sends voice messages in a trained voice. The site tells free users they need to upgrade to create packs; the help page gives Standard 10 free custom packs a month and Premium unlimited. There is also an "Automatic Voice" setting.
- No live voice calls: none in the plan table, the help center or the app-store listings.
- Apps: the iPhone app (rated 18+) is published by ELDORIA PTE. LTD.; the Android app (rated Mature 17+, "Sexual Themes") by MINDZEN AI.
Adult Content: The Pitch vs the Rules
Joyland's homepage title promises "Unrestricted AI Roleplay". In practice:
- It's a paid feature: the plan table lists "Intimate Themes Access" as a Standard and Premium benefit, and the site shows an "NSFW Mode Limit Reached" prompt that asks you to subscribe, with an option to unlock a single message with credits.
- Explicit images are banned: the terms ban posting realistic AI-generated porn images or any images of genitals, and ban minors and "aged-up" characters, bestiality and several extreme fetishes. Adult content here is text.
- Moderation is active: two Trustpilot reviews from April and May 2026 report messages deleted as inappropriate, one with a warning. App Store reviews are split: a June 2025 review complains the iPhone app avoided NSFW content, a February 2026 one calls it unfiltered.
Prices & Plans
The plan page at joyland.ai/fitting shows prices before you log in. We loaded it from France on 20 October 2026 and it showed US dollars. The plan data behind the page was an October price list ("DISCOUNT_202510"); Joyland's base plan list and its membership help page show higher annual prices, which we list too.
| Feature | Free | Standard | Premium |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly | $0 | $9.99 (list $19.99) | $19.99 (list $39.99) |
| Annual, at checkout 20 Oct | — | $55 | $95 |
| Annual, base list & help page | — | $107.99 | $191.99 |
| Credits | 10 a day (daily reward) | 5,000 a month | "No limits" |
| Bot photos | 30 credits each | 30 credits each | "No limits" |
| Chat models | Free model, limited trials | All five | All five |
| Memory | Current chat only | Short-term, across sessions | Long-term |
| Personas | 3 | 20 | 50 |
| Intimate Themes Access | Not included (single unlocks with credits) | ✅ | ✅ |
| Ad-free | Not listed | ✅ | ✅ |
The Free column comes from Joyland's membership help page; the paid columns from the plan page and its plan data. The help page also gives Standard "unlimited text conversations" and 20 image messages a day. Whether free chat has a daily message cap is not stated publicly. In the app stores, the App Store lists "standard" at $9.99 and "premium" at $19.99, and Google Play shows in-app items from $9.99 to $94.99. Upgrades are prorated, according to the help center.
| Plan & billing | Paid upfront | Per month | Images a month | Per image (ceiling) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard, monthly | $9.99 | $9.99 | ~166 | $0.06 |
| Standard, annual promo | $55 | $4.58 | ~166 | $0.03 |
| Standard, annual base | $107.99 | $9.00 | ~166 | $0.05 |
| Premium, monthly | $19.99 | $19.99 | No limit listed | — |
| Premium, annual promo | $95 | $7.92 | No limit listed | — |
| Premium, annual base | $191.99 | $16.00 | No limit listed | — |
The per-image figure assumes you spend every Standard credit on images, so treat it as a ceiling; the same fee also covers chat. If you use Joyland despite the concerns above, pay monthly: a year paid upfront can't be partly refunded, and the terms let Joyland "establish general practices and limits" and raise fees "at any time", which also qualifies Premium's "No limits".
Before You Pay
- 13+ sign-up: the terms and the privacy policy only bar users under 13 (under 16 in the EU). Nothing in them sets 18 as the minimum, on a site that sells "Intimate Themes Access" and calls itself unfiltered.
- Click-through age check: the NSFW upgrade prompt asks you to confirm you are 18+ ("I'm 18+ and subscribe PRO"). We saw no third-party age verification on the public pages.
- What the homepage promoted: on 20 October the Flow Mode carousel featured stories titled "Diary of a High School Girl" and "A High Schooler's Diary", next to step-family scenarios and a classroom "bully" character described as sexually frustrated. We did not open these chats and can't say what ages their creators set. Joyland's own rules ban minors and "aged-up" characters, which makes promoting high-school framing on the front page hard to square.
- Filter workarounds in public: many popular bot descriptions spell words with look-alike characters ("sεxy", "h0rny", "N5FW"), which looks designed to get past keyword filters.
- Refunds: "Refunds cannot be claimed for any partial-month or partial-annual subscription period." The terms mention no other refund route.
- Cancelling: subscriptions renew automatically until cancelled, and you must cancel before the renewal date, only through the payment partner you bought from (the App Store or Google Play if you subscribed in an app).
- Sales tactics: every plan carries an "Early Bird" label and a struck-through list price exactly double the real monthly price. The annual cards show a countdown timer and "60% OFF" (Premium) or "55% OFF" (Standard). The per-month figures stored with the annual plans ($8.99 and $15.99) belong to the $107.99 and $191.99 prices, not the $55 and $95 promo, so expect the promo to end.
- Credits: daily-reward credits are valid for 30 days. If your membership lapses, unused image and voice packs can be deleted after three months.
- Who runs it: MINDZEN PTE. LTD., 3 Fraser Street, #04-23A, Duo Tower, Singapore 189352, per the terms and privacy policy; support at support@joyland.ai. Disputes go to arbitration at the Singapore International Arbitration Centre, and the terms cap Joyland's total liability to you at $100.
- Payment: the web checkout shows card, Apple Pay and Google Pay buttons. We saw no crypto option.
- Privacy: the FAQ says chats are encrypted and that "not even Joyland staff" can access them. That sits awkwardly with the terms, which ask users to report inappropriate AI-generated content for review, and with users reporting messages deleted by moderation.
- User ratings: Google Play 2.5 from about 1,340 reviews (100K+ downloads), the App Store 2.8 from 108 ratings, Trustpilot 2.9 from only 7 reviews, on 20 October 2026. Recurring complaints: moderation deleting messages, characters forgetting earlier details, and one February 2026 Trustpilot review titled "Charged after cancellation - then ghosted by support". The positive reviews mention the character variety and the roleplay.
If the people around you could be under 18, keep this site off shared devices.
Pros & Cons
What We Like
- Plan page shows prices before you sign up
- Cheap paid tiers: $9.99 or $19.99 a month
- Premium lists credits and bot photos as "No limits"
- Published image price: 30 credits, or 500 to unlock one bot for good
- Large user-built library, JSON/PNG card import, lore, personas
- Five chat models and documented memory tiers
What Could Be Better
- Terms allow sign-up from 13 (16 in the EU)
- High-school-themed stories promoted on the homepage
- "Unfiltered" pitch, but intimate themes are a paid feature
- No refunds for partial periods; cancellation only through the original payment partner
- Annual promo with countdown timer; base prices are about double
- No live voice calls
- Ratings of 2.5 to 2.9 on Google Play, the App Store and Trustpilot
Alternatives to Consider
These reviews scored higher with the same v3 method, with no first-party age concerns:
| If you want... | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A companion app with photos, video and calls | Secrets AI (7.9) | Premium $19.99 a month or $109.99 a year (about $9.17 a month), unlimited messages on paid plans |
| Image and video generation with chat | OurDream AI (7.6) | Premium $19.99 a month or $119.88 a year ($9.99 a month), unlimited messages |
| Community character cards, with media | LusyChat (7.2) | Premium $14.99 a month or $95.88 a year ($7.99 a month); several chat models cost no coins per message |
| Another community character library | SpicyChat (7.3) or Janitor AI (6.2) | User-built characters, like Joyland, with published rules against minor-coded characters |
Final Verdict — 4.5/10, Not Recommended
Joyland AI is cheap and clearly priced, but we don't recommend it: its age rules don't fit what it sells.
On product alone it would score higher. Prices are visible before you sign up, Standard costs $9.99 a month, Premium lists uncapped credits and photos, and the creator tools (lore, personas, card import, image and voice packs) are documented. But a site that sells intimate themes and calls itself unfiltered lets 13-year-olds sign up and promoted high-school-themed stories on its homepage on the day we checked, so its score is capped at 4.5. Add no refunds for partial periods, cancellation only through the original payment partner, a countdown promo on annual plans and user ratings between 2.5 and 2.9.
Who should skip it:
- Anyone who wants a platform that keeps minors out by its own rules
- Anyone who needs a refund safety net
- Anyone expecting live voice calls
- Users who want unfiltered NSFW on the free tier
Related Reviews & Guides
Frequently Asked Questions
We don't recommend it. The paid tiers are cheap, at $9.99 or $19.99 a month and $55 or $95 a year on the October promotion, but the terms let users as young as 13 sign up on a site that sells intimate themes, and its homepage promoted high-school-themed stories on 20 October 2026. Refunds for partial periods are also excluded, so if you still choose it, pay monthly rather than yearly.
Partly. Joyland's FAQ says the site is free to use. Its membership help page gives free users 10 credits a day, the free chat model with limited trials of the others, and 3 personas. Images cost 30 credits each, so the free allowance pays for about one image every three days. Intimate Themes Access is listed as a paid benefit.
Prices seen on 20 October 2026, in US dollars from a French connection: Standard costs $9.99 a month or $55 a year, Premium $19.99 a month or $95 a year. The annual prices are an October promotion with a countdown timer; the base plan list shows $107.99 and $191.99. The App Store lists standard at $9.99 and premium at $19.99.
Not as its homepage suggests. The homepage advertises free, unfiltered roleplay, but the plan table sells Intimate Themes Access as a paid benefit and the site shows an NSFW upgrade prompt. Its rules ban realistic AI porn images and any minor or aged-up characters, and two 2026 Trustpilot reviews report messages deleted by moderation.
Images yes, voice calls no. Bots can send generated photos at 30 credits each, free for Premium. We found no live voice-call feature on Joyland's public pages or plan table. Creators can train a voice pack so a bot sends voice messages, and that feature requires a paid plan.
Do not count on it. The terms say refunds cannot be claimed for any partial month or partial year, and they mention no other refund route. Subscriptions renew automatically and must be cancelled through the payment partner you bought from, such as the App Store or Google Play, before the next billing date.
No. The terms and privacy policy bar users under 13, or under 16 in the EU, not under 18. The NSFW upgrade prompt asks you to confirm you are 18+, and the iOS app is rated 18+, but we saw no third-party age verification on the public pages.